How The CDC Works

The central core of the Championship Darts Circuit is the “Tour Card” held by top players on the continent who have committed to playing the majority of the weekends on the Tour. Players can earn Tour Cards in a number of ways: prior CDC Tour performance, by winning one of the Dart Players United States local tours across the US, via the CDC Qualifying School system or through a limited number of wild-card invitations extended by the CDC Principals to players who have proven themselves at other major standalone tournaments or the ADO and NDFC circuits in the US and Canada respectively. CDC Tour card holders are able to enter directly into each CDC Main Event.

In addition to Tour Card holders, CDC also reserves 16 spots in each Main Event for players that come through the “day-of” qualifiers held in advance of each main event. Entry to the qualifiers is open to citizens or permanent residents (for a period of at least three years) of any North American country. There are two qualifiers for each Main Event and one entry fee allows a player to play in both. The top-eight players in each qualifier advance to the Main Event and are drawn against the top-16 Tour Card holders.